The initial or renewal license fee will be waived for a physician and surgeon who resides in California and certifies to the Medical Board of California that the initial or renewal license is for the sole purpose of providing voluntary, unpaid service. However, California Business and Professions Code section 2436.5 requires all licensees to pay a mandatory fee of $25 at time of issuance or renewal of a physician's and surgeon's license to the Physician Loan Repayment Program. The Physician Loan Repayment Program encourages recently licensed physicians to practice in underserved locations in California by authorizing a plan of repayment of their medical school loans in exchange for their service in a designated medically underserved area for a minimum of three years.
A voluntary service physician licensee whose initial and/or renewal license fee has been waived pursuant to Business and Professions Code sections 2083 and 2442 must comply with the continuing medical education (CME) requirements.
To receive a fee exemption, a licensee must apply for the status change before the expiration date of the license. If the license is current no fee is required.
If the license is in a delinquent status, a payment of all accrued renewal fees, delinquent fee, the $25 mandatory fee, and penalty fee must be submitted with the application.
To apply for an initial California physician's and surgeon's license and voluntary service, you must complete the initial application for a California physician's and surgeon's license and the voluntary service application.
Note: For initial licensure the required initial application and fingerprint fees must be paid; only the license fee will be waived.
For further information, please contact the Consumer Information Unit at (800) 633-2322 or (916) 263-2382.