Scanned, public-record documents relating to administrative actions.
The mission of the Medical Board of California is to protect healthcare consumers and prevent harm through the proper licensing and regulation of physicians and surgeons and certain allied healthcare professionals and through the vigorous, objective enforcement of the Medical Practice Act, and to promote access to quality medical care through the Board's licensing, policy, and regulatory functions.
Our vision is to be the premier consumer protection agency by leading and partnering in the effort to prevent harm and advance high quality, safe medical care.
Newly Approved Legislation Bringing Significant Changes to the Medical Board of California Starting January 1, 2024
Physician Fee Increases and Licensing and Enforcement Changes Coming Soon
SB 815, signed into law by Governor Newsom on September 30, 2023, brings multiple significant changes to the Medical Board of California (Board), and its applicants, licensees, and public stakeholders.
This webpage explains the major changes in the law enacted by SB 815. Soon, the Board’s other website content will be updated, where appropriate, to reflect these changes. Unless otherwise noted, these law changes take effect on January 1, 2024.
New Legislation Makes Immediate Changes to Certain Licensure Deadlines
The Medical Board of California (Board) is pleased to share that on September 13, 2023, Governor Newsom signed Senate Bill 143, which makes the following changes that are now in effect:
Extends the expiration date of Postgraduate Training Licenses (PTL) that expire after June 1, 2023, and before December 31, 2023, to March 31, 2024.
These PTL holders do not have to take any action. The Board will automatically change their expiration date and notify affected licensees via email.
Provides residents who completed the board-approved postgraduate training out-of-state required for licensure and are enrolled in a California ACGME-accredited program more time to obtain a Physician’s and Surgeon’s (P&S) license, under Business and Professions Code (BPC) section 2065(g).
Under the new law, these applicants have a total of 180 days from the date they begin their training program to obtain a P&S license (under the prior law they had 90 days from their enrollment date).
- States that residents must obtain a PTL within 180 days from beginning a California board-approved postgraduate training program rather than from the date of enrollment, as required under BPC section 2064.5(a).
Questions regarding these law changes for applicants and licensees of the Board may be directed to firstname.lastname@example.org.
Certain Licensing Documents Must be Submitted Online Starting January 1, 2024
The Direct Online Certification Submission (DOCS) service is a secure, fast, and reliable online document delivery system that allows medical schools and postgraduate training programs to submit certain primary-source licensing documents to the Board.
Effective January 1, 2024, the Board will only accept the following documents through DOCS for an open application, or through any of the other Board-accepted third party services identified on the Board’s website.
- Certificate of Medical Education (Form MED)
- Official Transcript
- Official English Translation of Transcript
- Postgraduate Training License Enrollment Form (Form EF)
- Certificate of Completion of ACGME/RCPSC/CFPC Postgraduate Training (Form PTA-B)
- Certificate of Completion of CODA Postgraduate Training (Form CODA1-CODA2)
- Current Postgraduate Training Verification (Form CTV)
- Explanation to Application Question (Form EXP)
The Board will not accept these documents if submitted by mail, which will delay the processing of the license application. The DOCS registration form is available on the Board’s website. DOCS registration forms and questions about registering may be emailed to email@example.com.