Application Fees Requirement
There are several fees involved in the licensing process including, but not limited to, the application fee, initial license fee, the mandatory Steven M. Thompson Physician Corps Loan Repayment Program (Steven M. Thompson) fee, and the voluntary Song-Brown Healthcare Workforce Training Programs (Song-Brown Program) fee.
If submitting your application through the BreEZe online system, you must use a credit card to pay the full amount of required fees for the application.
The application fee of $674 is non-refundable and includes the required $49 fingerprint-processing fee.
Applicants transitioning from a PTL to a P&S License are not required to pay this fee.
Initial License Fee
Once your application is complete, you must pay an initial license fee of $888 before the Board can issue your license. The initial license fee includes the mandatory fee of $25 for the Steven M. Thompson Physician Corps Loan Repayment Program.
PTL applicants do not pay an initial license fee, only the application fee of $674.
Note: If you are approved for a Military or Voluntary Service license status, the initial license fee will be waived; however, the mandatory Steven M. Thompson fee of $25 is required.
Reduced Initial Fee
You are eligible for a 50 percent reduction of the initial license fee if you are currently enrolled in an ACGME, RCPSC, CFPC, or CODA accredited postgraduate training program. To verify your enrollment in an accredited training program, your program director or the designated institutional official will need to submit a Current Postgraduate Training Verification, Form CTV. The reduced initial license fee is $456.50 and includes a mandatory $25 fee for the Steven M. Thompson Physician Corps Loan Repayment Program.
Steven M. Thompson Physician Corps Loan Repayment Program Fee
The Steven M. Thompson Physician Corps Loan Repayment Program is a statewide scholarship and loan repayment program for a wide range of health-professions, students, and recent graduates funded in part through the licensing and renewal fees of various health professionals, including the Board ( BPC section 2436.5). Visit the California Department of Health Care Access and Information for more information on the Steven M. Thompson Loan Repayment Program.
Song-Brown Health Care Workforce Training Act Program Fee
The Song-Brown Health Care Workforce Training Act (Song-Brown Program) was established to increase the number of family physicians to provide needed medical services to the underserved areas of California. You may voluntarily contribute a minimum of $25.00 with your application to the Song-Brown Program. The Board transfers all funds collected on a monthly basis to the California Department of Health Care Access and Information (HCAI). Visit the HCAI website for more information on the Song-Brown Program. (BPC section 2435.1)